This outrageous attack stresses the urgent need to address the root causes of the current refugee crisis and insecurity in the world. This situation should not be abused to demonise refugees and the Muslim community.

As Nobel Peace Laureates and Laureate organisations we join with millions of individuals, organisations, communities and cities who every day make a difference by working for a better and more peacefulworld.

We collectively raise our voices in compassion for the millions of refugees who have been forced to leave their homes. We affirm that the manner in which we honour and protect their inherent dignity and human rights is a measure of our own humanity.

We are particularly concerned about the plight of women and children whose lives have been devastated by conflict, repression and deprivation. We must and can eliminate the conditions that compel people to leave from their homes.

The refugee and migration crisis does not exist in isolation. It is a symptom of the broader problems that confront humanity that include

We believe that many of these problems can be solved if the international community fulfils its commitment to achieve the 17 Sustainable Development Goals that nations have already adopted as the framework for a comprehensive, practical and achievable path to a secure and peaceful future.

We also call on the international community to

True security will never be achieved by military force or by the possession and threat of nuclear weapons. It requires adherence to international humanitarian law and global cooperation in meeting the authentic needs of humanity. We call on the nations of the world to

True personal, national and global security is found in the practical application of compassion.

The Summit was attended by nine Nobel Peace laureates:

  1. President Dr. Oscar Arias Sanchez
  2. President Frederik Willem De Klerk
  3. Dr. Shirin Ebadi
  4. Mrs. Tawakkol Karman
  5. Mrs. Mairead Corrigan Maguire
  6. Lord David Trimble
  7. President Lech Walesa
  8. Mrs. Betty Williams
  9. Prof. Jody Williams

and ten Nobel Peace Laureate organisations:

  1. The American Friends Service Committee
  2. European Commission
  3. International Campaign to Ban Landmines
  4. International Labour Organization
  5. the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
  6. International Peace Bureau
  7. International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War
  8. Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs
  9. United Nations
  10. United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

However, they do not all necessarily support all aspects of the general consensus that emerged from the Summit’s deliberations.

Issued by the Permanent Secretariat of the World Summit of Nobel Peace Laureates