He told the Board that his primary motive was to ensure the continuity of the Foundation when he was no longer on the scene. However, he will remain actively involved in the Foundation’s work and will still be a member of the Board.

Following his announcement, the Board chose one of its members, Dr Theuns Eloff, the former Vice-Chancellor of the North-West University (NWU), to replace him as Chairman.

FW de Klerk established the Foundation in 1999. In 2006 the Foundation launched its Centre for Constitutional Rights (the CFCR). The Foundation’s activities include the promotion and defense of the Constitution; the promotion of positive relations between communities in multicultural societies; the provision of information on FW de Klerk’s Presidency; and support for organisations that care for disabled children.

The Board thanked Mr De Klerk for his enormous contribution to the Foundation and expressed their happiness that he would remain a member of the Board. They decided to grant him the special title Chairman Emeritus.

Dr Eloff chaired his first board meeting this afternoon.

Issued by the FW de Klerk Foundation
2 February 2015