The FW de Klerk Foundation would like to celebrate the anniversary of former President FW de Klerk’s birthday with the announcement that the 2022 FW de Klerk Goodwill Award will be awarded to Ladles of Love and its founder Mr Daniele “Danny” Diliberto.

The NGO, Ladles of Love, was founded in 2014 by Danny Diliberto and has done inspiring work to feed communities over the last seven years. This was especially evident during the Covid-19 pandemic and the subsequent lockdown, when Ladles of Love, with its army of volunteers, provided critically needed assistance to thousands of South Africans. Ladles of Love has grown from one soup kitchen to one of the most prolific food charity organisations in South Africa and supports numerous other community kitchens, schools and social enterprises with much needed groceries and other goods, allowing them to reach out further. Many ordinary South Africans are volunteering and getting involved with this NGO. They believe that “By working together, we can do more, reach further, and uplift communities to support themselves”.

The deep, unconditional and dedicated passion with which Ladles of Love – and particularly its founder, Danny Diliberto – has approached its task is an example and an inspiration to everyone who wishes to build a new and better South Africa. In providing food to so many needy South Africans, Ladles of Love not only makes an important contribution to society – but also provides an excellent practical example of goodwill in action. It shows what can be achieved when South Africans from different communities work together in a spirit of goodwill and compassion.

To find out more about Ladles of Love, visit

We will present the award at the next suitable opportunity – either later this year or at our annual conference on 2 February next year.

The Board of the FW de Klerk Foundation established the FW de Klerk Goodwill Award in 2010 to give recognition to individuals and organisations that have made exceptional contributions to the promotion of goodwill between South Africans. Past winners include Pieter-Dirk Uys (2012), Studietrust (2013), Patrice Motsepe (2014), Afrika Tikkun (2015), Prof Thuli Madonsela and the Office of the Public Protector (2016), the coach and athlete team of Mrs Anna (Ans) Botha and Mr Wayde van Niekerk (2017), Gift of the Givers (2018) and Mr. Moeletsi Mbeki (2019).

Issued by the FW de Klerk Foundation
18 March 2022

Click here to download.